Hobo Couple in Chicago

Hey, it’s Lollapalooza time in the great city of Chicago, so all kinds of folks are coming into town. Some come by bus, others by rail, a few by plane, and a couple by train–literally speaking. Last night, while killing time waiting for a movie to begin, a friend and I were wandering the streets of Lakeview, a trendy Chicago neighborhood, when I saw a young couple sitting on the sidewalk with an adorable Pitt Bull. Being a fierce lover of all things canine, I stopped to chat with the couple and pet their dog. Turns out, the guy and gal are hobos.

The two people were just as awesome and friendly as their dog. The man hails from California, and the gal, being shy, I’m not sure where, but they had just arrived in Chicago on an inbound freight train from Minneapolis. They both looked tired, but their eyes burned with life and wonder. I expressed my admiration for their courage but was moved emotionally on a deeper level when I learned these young hobos had adopted the dog who was bound for the death chamber.

About bedsidereader

I love books, animals, yoga, and writing. Learning new facts and information keeps me feeling alive. For as long as I could read, I have had books at my bedside. I started this blog to share what I read and to find out what others are reading.
This entry was posted in Books, magazines, and literature discussion, opinion, reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

