Do You Dream in Color?

Being of the nerdy sort, I watched a NOVA program last night on the science of dreaming. The big take-away for me was the relatively new fact that we dream in two stages of sleepImage. As most of us know, rapid eye movement (REM) is the best known stage of dreaming, but there is another stage. I forget what it’s called, but when we dream in the non-REM state, the subject matter and emotions are overwhelmingly positive. However, REM sleep mainly produces anxiety and fear filled dreams. REM dreams draw on our most primitive fears and desires, preparing the brain for the day-to-day challenges of living. 

Well, this new info got me to thinking. I have many, many dreams that are vivid, colorful, highly narrative, and –more often than not–deeply disturbing or memorable. Does this make me a philisophical  romantic instead of a pragmatic realist? What do you think? Can you relate your dreams to your reality?

About bedsidereader

I love books, animals, yoga, and writing. Learning new facts and information keeps me feeling alive. For as long as I could read, I have had books at my bedside. I started this blog to share what I read and to find out what others are reading.
This entry was posted in Books, magazines, and literature discussion, opinion, reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

