Are You a Romantic or a Realist?

Romantics defy societal expectations

Romantics and realists are two sides of the same coin. We co-exist.

You may remember the romantic frenzy surrounding The Bridges of Madison  County, which subsequently spawned a movie, invented a tourism industry destination, and started more than a few book clubs. Full disclosure–I saw the movie, kinda liked it, but it was the ending that got me. I was practically screaming for the protagonist (Streep) to jump out of her husband’s truck  and into her lover’s (Eastwood) vehicle. I am a romantic. If you saw the movie/read the book and sided with the husband, you are a realist.

Romantics say “yes” to things if they feel it in their hearts. Romantics say “yes” to uncertainty, as long as their hearts are satisfied. Romantics take big risks, lose big, and sometimes win big. Realists, on the other hand, keep their hearts grounded in reason. They may take smaller steps with bigger goals in mind, but they seldom leap off cliffs. Romantics take blind leaps and can be viewed as reckless at times, while realists can be plodding and slow to act.

So, are you a romantic or a realist?

About bedsidereader

I love books, animals, yoga, and writing. Learning new facts and information keeps me feeling alive. For as long as I could read, I have had books at my bedside. I started this blog to share what I read and to find out what others are reading.
This entry was posted in Books, magazines, and literature discussion, opinion, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

