Peace Wish for Memorial Day

I’ve  been a “peacenik” for my entire life and, at times, hateful of the military and everything connected with it. However, with age comes wisdom, and now I hold great compassion for all veterans of wars from around the world. In particular, THANK-YOU, all of you BRAVE AMERICAN WARRIORS! May you find peace within your souls and happiness in your futures.

Wars are a most hateful thing, but worse are the powers in control that dictate them. Too often, it is the poorest and most disenfranchized who fight the world’s terrible battles. A few exceptions include high profile warriors like Prince Harry, who rightly sees his duty as a leader and example for his country. However, too many of we Americans give precious life, health (mental and/or physical), and injury for causes of idealism and control beyond our understanding. Ask a Vietnam Vet if you don’t believe me. So many went into battle with the “right” attitude, saving the world from Communism, but few came back with any feelings of victory or  pride.  Yet, before I charge into this topic, of which there is too much for this post, I leave you with my wish and prayer for peace in our lifetimes.

A song from Man of LaMancha seems appropriate for tomorrow’s holiday, “The Impossible Dream”:

T0 dream the impossible dream, to fight the unbeatable foe, to bear with unbearable sorrow, to run where the brave dare not go.

To right the unrightable wrong, to love pure and chaste from afar, to try when your arms are too weary, to reach the unreachable star!

This is my quest, to follow that star, no matter how hopeless, no matter how far; to fight for the right without question or pause; To be willing to march into hell for a heavenly cause!

And I know, if I’ll only be true To this glorious quest that my heart will lie peaceful and calm, When I’m laid to my rest.

And the world will be better for this; That one man, scorned and covered with scars, Still strove with his last ounce of courage, To reach the unreachable stars.

Lyrics by Joe Darion; Music by Mitch Leigh (1965)

About bedsidereader

I love books, animals, yoga, and writing. Learning new facts and information keeps me feeling alive. For as long as I could read, I have had books at my bedside. I started this blog to share what I read and to find out what others are reading.
This entry was posted in Books, magazines, and literature discussion, opinion, reviews, Memorial Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

